Remember?  Ohh, I would not  do that!  Remembering is dangerous.  I find the past such a worrying, anxious place. Memory’s so treacherous. One moment you’re lost in a carnival of delights. With poignant neon of puberty, all that sentimental candy-floss…the next, it leads you somewhere you don’t want to go…somewhere dark and cold, filled with the damp, ambiguous shapes of things you’d hoped were forgotten. Memories can be vile, repulsive little brutes. Like children I suppose. But can we live without them? Memories are what our reason is based upon. If we can’t face them, we deny reason itself ! although, why not? We aren’t contractually tied down to rationality! There is no sanity clause ! So when you find yourself locked onto an unpleasant train of thought, heading for the places in your past where the screaming is unbearable, remember there’s always madness. Madness is the emergency exit…You can just step outside, and close the door on all those dreadful things that happened. You can lock them away…Forever. Oh I know you’re confused, you’re frightened who would not be ? You’re in a hell of a situation ! I mean what is it with you? What made you what you are? Girlfriend killed by the mob maybe? Brother carved up by some mugger? Something like that, I bet something like that…Something like that happened to me, you know…I…I’m not exactly sure what it was. Sometimes I remember it one way sometimes another…If I am going to have a past, I prefer it to be multiple choice ! But my point is…My point is, I went crazy. When I saw what a black, awful  joke the world was, I went crazy as a coot ! I admit it ! Why can’t you ? It’s all a joke ! everything anybody ever  valued or struggled for…It’s all a monstrous, demented gag! So why can’t you see the funny side ? Why aren’t you laughing?…

There is way out…..though life’s a bowl of cherries and this is the pits, always remember this:

When the World is full of care

And every headline screams despair,

When all is rape, starvation, war

and life is vile…

Then there’s a certain thing I do,

Which I shall pass along to you,

That’s always guaranteed to make me smile…

I go Loo-oo-oony,

….as a light-bulb battered bug,

Simply Loo-oo-oony,

….sometimes foam and chew  the rug.

Life is swell,

in a padded cell,

It will chase those blues away…

You can trade your gloom,

for a rubber room,

And injections twice a day !

